Non-Highway Vehicle License

Effective February 1, 2023, the Knox County Board approved an ordinance regulating the use of Non-Highway vehicles on County controlled roadways.  All Non-Highway vehicles must have the proper license sticker on the equipment in order to be legally allowed to operate on the County roadways.  Licenses will be effective from February 1st thru January 31st of each year.  License stickers can be purchased from the Knox County Clerk’s office or online at Illinois E-Pay. 

Non-Highway Vehicle Sticker Application

Non-Highway Vehicle Ordinance – 2022-048

Order Non-Highway vehicle stickers on-line.

What is a Non-Highway Vehicle

As per the Knox County Ordinance 2022-048, a Non-Highway Vehicle is defined as a motor vehicle not specifically designed to be used on public highways including:

  • A recreational off-highway vehicle – Any motorized device designed to travel primarily off-highway, 64 inches or less in width, having a manufacturer’s dry weight of 2,000 pounds or less, traveling on four or more non-highway tires, designed with a non-straddle seat and a steering wheel for steering control, except equipment such as lawnmowers as defined by 625 ILCS 5/1-168.8
  • An all-terrain vehicle is defined as any motorized off-highway device designed to travel primarily off-highway, 50 inches or less in width, having a manufacturer’s dry weight of 1,500 pounds or less, traveling on 3 or more non-highway tires, designed with a seat or saddle for operator use, and handlebars or steering wheel for steering control, except equipment such as lawnmowers.
  • A golf cart is defined as a vehicle specifically designed and intended for the purposes of transporting one or more persons and their golf clubs or maintenance equipment while engaged in the playing of golf, supervising the play of golf, or maintaining the condition of the grounds on a public or private golf course.

 

Requirements of Ordinance

As per Knox County Ordinance 2022-048, the following are requirements for legal operation of a Non-Highway vehicle under this ordinance:

  • Must be 18 years of age or older with a valid driver’s license.
  • No passengers who are 10 years old or younger.
  • Any person who drives or is in actual physical control of a non-highway vehicle on a County road shall be subject to the mandatory insurance requirements of Article VI of Chapter 7 of the Illinois Vehicle Code and shall carry proof of current liability insurance in or upon such vehicle.
  • Any person who drives or is in physical control of a non-highway vehicle on a roadway while under the influence is subject to 625 ILCS 5/11-500 through 11-502.
  • Any person who drives or is in physical control of a non-highway vehicle on a County road must have a permit to do so issued by Knox County.
  • Non-highway vehicle must have a decal issued by Knox County, Illinois on the vehicle in the prescribed location at all times.
  • Any person who drives or is in actual physical control of a non-highway vehicle on a County road shall obey all traffic laws of the State of Illinois and ordinances of the County.
  • Non-highway vehicles shall not be operated on sidewalks, bike paths, in cemeteries or parks, other than in designated parking areas.
  • Non-highway vehicles may not be operated on highways, streets and roads under the jurisdiction of the Illinois Department of Transportation, except as allowed by State Statutes.
  • Non-highway vehicles operating between one-half hour before sunset and one-half hour after sunrise must be equipped with head lamps and tail lamps, and the head lamps and tail lamps must be lighted.
  • Operation of a non-highway vehicle for the purpose of farming operations to and from the home, farm, farm buildings, and any adjacent or nearby farm shall not be unlawful.

 

Penalties for Ordinance Violation

Any violation of the Ordinance shall be punishable by a minimum fine of not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00), but no more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), except a violation of insurance requirement of the Ordinance shall be punishable by a minimum fine of not less than five hundred dollars ($500.00).

The County may suspend or revoke a permit granted upon a finding that the permit holder has violated any provision of this Ordinance or evidence demonstrates that the permit holder cannot safely operate the non-highway vehicle safely.